Fitness: My top 5

I don’t claim to be in any way a “fitness expert” but I do enjoy working out every now and again. It can sometimes be hard to figure out what you want to do but worse still finding something that you’ll enjoy doing again and again. Here are my favourite 5 ways of working out:

fitness

Skipping: As a child I loved skipping, it made me feel free and energetic. This is something I’ve taken with me into adulthood; except nowadays I use weighted ropes. I prefer to do it in intervals: 5 minutes skipping 1 minute break. Doing that for however long I feel upto, usually a minimum of 30 minutes.

Treadmill/Running: My next is running. Now I used to run in the park at least twice a week but after some unfortunate incidents that changed, which was sad. However I’m now lucky to own a treadmill which means that I attempt to run (usually interval) for at least an hour a few times a week.

Resistance: Okay so I’m a little late to this I’ll admit but once my treadmill arrived it came with an added bonus of a resistance band. After some research I started working out with it everyday except Wednesdays. It’s great for quick portable workouts, you can work all parts of your body, they come in different “weights” and you really feel the effects the next day (which I personally love).

Kettlebells: Kettlebells are something you need to get used to I did not like them when I first started. They made me tired after the first few minutes, something I wasn’t used to. However after a month or so, and different techniques I found one I liked doing: Pyramid Training – “ a pyramid is a basic structure that you create when arranging your sets and reps of a given exercise. It entails starting out light and stepping up the weight you use on successive sets. As you keep adding weight, the number of reps you can do goes down,*”

Youtube videos: Now my utmost favourite way to workout is to follow workouts put in front of me in video form. The two Youtube channels I work out with/to the most are Cassie Ho – Blogilates and Scola Dondo. Blogilates’ workouts are based on pilates and Scola works a lot with HIIT (high intensity interval training) and dance workouts. They’re both great fun and there’s always something new and different which is why I enjoy them so much.

*Pyramid Training

*Blogilates YouTube

*Scola Dondo YouTube

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

39 thoughts on “Fitness: My top 5

  1. Ron Mariano says:

    I hardly enjoy working out but I know that it’s really good for us. Cardio and resistance are great kinds of workouts. I just walk/jog in the neighborhood or at the beach. (fortunate enough to be close by beach cities in SoCal) These activities make it seem like it’s not so much of a workout. Will share with those who might be interested in these types of workout.

    Ron | Nearby Wanderer

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jasmin N says:

    I’m not a fitness person at all – but those seems like fun activities!

    <3: Jasmin N
    littlethingswithjassy.blogspot.fi

    Like

  3. Amy says:

    These are great! I’m really loving lap-swimming these days, but I used to be a runner. I did a few half-marathons, and I’d like to do another sometime, but I’m currently pregnant, so I’ve been taking a break from running. 🙂

    Like

  4. Amy | Toothbrush Travels says:

    Don’t know if you’ve tried it but HIIT is seriously the best thing ever. I used to hate exercise as it felt long and continuous whereas hit is high impact and good for those with limited time! Great variations in this post though! xo

    Like

    • watchmeblather says:

      Yeah I do HIIT, a lot of Scolas videos on youtube are HIIT and Blogilates does something called PIIT which is Pilates Intensity Interval Training (same premise as HIIT but with pilates moves) 🙂

      Like

  5. NM says:

    I can’t ever get into a routine with my fitness, and then I complain about being out of breath after taking one flight of stairs! Skipping would work for me because like you said it’s something I really enjoyed doing as a child. I really do need incorporate some sort of fitness into my schedule!

    http://www.shewillneverlose.com

    Like

  6. Saranda says:

    Nice top 5, personally I don’t like skipping, something with boobs getting really painful 😦 I found out that hula hooping works really good for me and it is so much fun! I just put on my favourite tv-series our a movie and hula hoop for the whole duration of an episode haha.

    Like

  7. buffbanana says:

    Great post it really gave me an insight to your go to workouts, but i didnt see anything about weights, like dumbells or barbells? I think you would love them! If you have time check out my blog http://buffbanana.com/
    I write fitness and health articles, i hope some can come in handy. Keep it up and stay motivated! 🙂

    Like

  8. justkeeplifting says:

    I love my resistance bands too, especially for glute training! I also love kettlebells and skipping is great though I always get a rude awakening with it that im not as fit as I like to think I am when it comes to a long skipping session! great post!

    Like

  9. f3foranswers says:

    Loved this post! So glad to see that you are taking fitness in a fun way, and that you are committed! Getting started is the hardest part, but once you get in a routine it’s easier sailing from there! What are your overall fitness goals if I may ask?

    Will definitely keep following from now on! As a new fitness/health blogger myself, just wanted to drop by and say, “Hey!” 🙂

    Like

  10. Karoliina Kazi says:

    I also enjoy doing workouts from youtube, or the 7 minute workout app. I would love to try the bells and the pyramid workout, sounds great. I swim couple of times a week and find it so relaxing.

    Like

    • watchmeblather says:

      I never used to like exercising either but once I started getting into I started enjoying it more probably the endophins. I now have a treadmill at home so I can throw a movie on, zone out and run =^.^=

      Like

Leave a Reply

