My Big Decision: Cutting out toxic habits

So it’s coming the end of the month and as always I’m looking back at my progress, thinking to myself “wow I really could have done better”. Reflection is a big part of understanding how to better ourselves so what I discovered this month was a little disheartening to my fitness goals. So it came as no surprise to myself when I made the decision to give up on soda, fizzy drinks and energy drinks. (Energy drinks being the big one as I’m pretty sure I’m addicted.)

soda

*

So to put things into perspective I was drinking 1-2 cans of energy drink a day and maybe a litre of soda a week, probably not very good for me. And I could tell that I wasn’t losing the weight I wanted although my workouts were the same. This lead me to do some research* and found a few things out of many that made me certain I wanted to give it up.

Here are the main ones that swayed me:

  1. HEART: A survey in 2011 and in 2012 showed an increased risk of chronic heart disease and also raising your blood pressure.
  2. BRAIN: Another study showed long-term consumption can lead to impaired memory, learning and behaviour.
  3. KIDNEY: Drinking soda can increase risk of kidney disease and decrease the function of the liver.
  4. REPRODUCTIVE ORGANS: Some studies indicate a link from drinking soda to premature puberty, infertility, metabolic disorders, type 2 diabetes and certain cancers.
  5. WEIGHT LOSS and lastly but not the most important reducing how much you drink by one large drink a day reduces your overall calorie intake by roughly 200,000 a year. Not to mention reducing the sugar in your diet is known to have better effects on your body.

These aren’t the only negative health effects that they can have on the body but just the ones that really scared me or hit close to home. So for the next month I won’t be touching them, or at least trying not to. And in a months time I will be reporting how I felt, any physical/emotional changes and how it affected my daily life and fitness.

main research

*image is free stock image

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

13 thoughts on “My Big Decision: Cutting out toxic habits

  1. Jasmin N says:

    I’ve never enjoyed energy drinks, hate the smell & taste so bad 😀 even thinking of it makes me want to puke hahah 😀
    But I should definitely drink less coffee..

    <3: Jasmin N
    littlethingswithjassy.blogspot.fi

    Like

  2. Annie says:

    I don’t like energy or fizzy/carbonated drinks… Or really sweet drinks… or… Let’s just say that I always stuck to unsweetened tea and water… I don’t like the sugary taste and energy drinks taste like a used chewing gum dissolved in carbonated water XD

    I’m glad that you chose to cut out your toxic habits

    Like

  3. Michaela says:

    I never drank much soda but when I moved to Sweden for a semester I started drinking coke a lot… maybe because I ate really badly there so my body was always asking for that quick sugar energy bomb. When I came back I cut it immediatelly… I’m sure ocasionelly I’ll drink some again but not few times a week or almost daily!
    And wow that researh u did… good to see there stats!

    Like

Leave a Reply

