My thoughts on ‘The Cursed Child’

IMG_0027

As someone obsessed with everything Harry Potter it’s safe to say I was excited at the prospect of another book coming out. So imagine my disappointment when I found it was to be made into a play, rather than a film and the book that was to be released would be a play script rather than a novel. However my love for the fandom made me buy the book, it took me two days total to read and complete it, it was a whirlwind of emotions. On one hand I was getting see characters I had grown up with all grown up themselves with families and careers but at the same time I understood that after this it would be the end of Harry, Ron and Hermiones journey which saddened me.

So where do I start?

The play itself is written as a continuation, starting off where Deathly Hallows ended. We meet Albus Severus the middle child of Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter, and discover the burder of being “the odd one out” in the Potter-Weasley clan.Β The book as we know is written as a screenplay or play script so unlike a traditional novel it jumps about and gives directions as to what each character would be doing or saying in that situation. With that being said it’s obvious that there would be more speech rather than description. Now onto the story.

IMG_0029

Now onto the plot of the story, without giving too much away I can say in all honesty that, yes I did enjoy the story but also it felt more like a fanfiction. Although I could see the story unfold in my mind, it felt as though Rowling had pandered a lot to the fans. Don’t get me wrong I respect her for wanting to make her fans happy they got her to where she is today but on the other hand it made certain parts of the story to me at least seem unrealistic within the Harry Potter world. With that being said though, I really enjoyed the story and I’m glad to have it in my collection, especially since I’m unable to see the play in person.

IMG_0026

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

19 thoughts on “My thoughts on ‘The Cursed Child’

  1. Ron Mariano says:

    I’m currently reading it right now. I also love everything Harry Potter and have read all the books. I’m glad you enjoyed the story and let’s see if I will too. πŸ™‚ So far it isn’t bad but I get what you’re saying about J.K. Rowling pandering a little bit.

    Ron | Nearby Wanderer

    Like

  2. okayjvy says:

    I’ve never really been into Harry Potter, weirdly. But recently I’ve been finding myself more and more interested. I might have to do a movie marathon and watch all of the movies from the first one!

    Like

  3. NM says:

    I was afraid I’d clicked on a spoiler when I saw a copy of a page but took a huge sigh of relief when I read the sentence

    “..Without giving to much away”

    I’m excited to read and watch it! I can’t wait to see how it turns out! I love Rowling for what she’s done and created.

    http://www.shewillneverlose.com

    Like

  4. Sarah says:

    Haven’t had the time yet to buy or read the book, but I’m planning on getting it within the next few months. I always enjoyed the Harry Potter books and even though this one sounds very different from the old books I’m still excited to give it a try!

    Sarah |Β http://lavenderlife.co

    Like

  5. Annie says:

    I’m a huge book reader, but I never read Harry Potter…. It just never seemed interesting to me after watching the movies.
    However, it’s a nice book review, too bad the book feels like a fanfiction, it’s always a bummer when that happens

    Like

  6. Zenobia K says:

    I just finished reading it. Yes, it was a bit disappointing as compared to the other books of the series but then we have to keep reminding ourselves that this wasn’t a book but rather the script of a play. How I wish I could see it being performed

    Like

  7. lastchance3 says:

    There are certain things I lov d about this and also disliked. To Defend Rowling just a bit, she didn’t actually write the script. She only assured the two men that did.

    My pros…. Scorpius is the best character. He cracked me up throughout and I generally liked him. Seeing Draco grow was fantastic. The general idea was fantastic. The relationship between Harry and Ginny was great. I loved the little tidbits we learned about the original characters.

    My cons…none of the old characters were themselves. Their personalities changed drastically. Ron got shafted. I hate that there was no Neville or Luna.

    Like

Leave a Reply

