10 Favourite Halloween/Fall Season Films

So Halloween month is well and truly in full swing and my favourite thing to do in preparation is to watch at least one “Halloween” movie (Halloween in is quotations because honestly I watch them almost every day) a day. So here’s my list of favourite films, along with my favourite quote/s from it.

halloween-1443733665

So first things first HALLOWEENTOWN, family friendly funny film revolving around Marnie Piper who on her 13th Halloween finds out from her grandmother that she’s a witch from a long line of powerful Cromwell witches. It’s great and I love all the characters, the monsters and the story makes me feel nostalgic for being a kid at Halloween.

[Favourite quote/s: Magic is really very simple, all you’ve got to do is want something and then let yourself have it.” or Being normal is vastly overrated“]

open-uri20150422-12561-177ht95_767f0ffd

Next up is Twitches: ‘Two teen witches who were separated at birth and were adopted by two different families meet on their 21st birthday and must use their powers to save the world in which they were born, where their birth mother still lives.’ It’s another light-hearted feel good Halloween movie and great to watch with the family or just like in my case snuggled with a cup of tea and the cat.

[Favourite quote/s:  “I went through some ’70s wallpaper that is going to scar me for life.]

 

p14911_p_v8_ag

So probably one that everyone knows and loves, and I’m no exception to the rule is Hocus Pocus (and yes I know it’s another Disney movie but what can I say, I’m obsessed): ‘After three centuries, three witch sisters are resurrected in Salem, Massachusetts on Halloween night, and it is up to two teenagers, a young girl, and an immortal cat to put an end to their reign of terror once and for all.’ I loved this film as a kid and even more so as an adult because I can appreciate it more, my favourite character is Thackery Binx. If you haven’t seen this then I would definitely recommend this, the plot and characters are just incredible.

[Favourite quote/s: Oh look, another glorious morning. Makes me sick! another favourite,  Winifred: Why was I cursed with such idiot sisters? Sarah: Just lucky I guess”]

p169302_p_v8_ad

One of the most interesting storywise in my opinion is Trick r Treat. ‘Five interwoven stories that occur on the same block, on the same night. A couple finds what happens when they blow a jack o’ lantern out before midnight, a high school principal has a secret life as a serial killer, a college virgin might have met the right guy for her, a group of mean teens play a prank that they take too far, and a hermit is visited by a special trick or treater.’ Seriously I love this film, all the stories are incredible, based on different Urban Legends surrounding Halloween which is something that interests me immensely as well as the fact that they are linked in some way makes it even more intriguing. Not one for the kids but adults who enjoy horror films will definitely enjoy this one.

[Favourite quote/s: My my … What big eyes you have.”]

 

13-practical-magic

Next film I watch more often than is probably sane to do so is Practical Magic; ‘The wry, comic romantic tale follows the Owens sisters, Sally and Gillian, as they struggle to use their hereditary gift for practical magic to overcome the obstacles in discovering true love.’ It’s sad and happy, fantastical and yet somehow realistic in its portrayal of how prejudice can affect communities, people and families. The whole story is a rollercoaster of emotions, something I love in a movie.

[Favourite quote/s: “Since when is being a slut a crime in this family?”, “There’s a little witch in all of us.”, “Hang onto your husbands girls!”]

the_craft_movie_poster

The Craft: ‘A newcomer to a Catholic prep high school falls in with a trio of outcast teenage girls who practice witchcraft and they all soon conjure up various spells and curses against those who even slightly anger them.’ This is great if you’re into angsty teenage movies made better with the added magic and crazy, a must watch any time of year but especially love it around Halloween.

[Favourite quote/s:  “We are the weirdos, mister” and “Be careful. You don’t want to end up like Nancy.”]

 

black_zodiac_thir13en_ghosts_by_932_2063-d4qxt9d

If you’re into the gore side of horror movies, with plenty of gore and a plentiful story then I recommend Thir13en Ghosts for your horror fix and why? well here’s the summary: ‘When Cyrus Kriticos, a very rich collector of unique things dies, he leaves it all to his nephew and his family. All including his house, his fortune, and his malicious collection of ghosts!’

[Favourite quote/s: “I sure as hell hope I don’t bleed to death. That would *suck*.”  and “Did I say there’s a petting zoo downstairs? NO, there are ghosts downstairs, Arthur!”]

maxresdefault

Now Carrie is a bit of a cult classic and has had some remakes in the past but honestly the 1976  version is my favourite it centres around ‘Carrie White, a shy, friendless 17 year-old girl who is sheltered by her domineering, religious mother, unleashes her telekinetic powers after being humiliated by her classmates at her senior prom.’ It’s one of those movies that you can just really get into and understand, some people are bullied in school this film just shows what happens when that person can fight back (even if it is with mystical powers).

[Favourite quote/s:  “Margaret White: Take that dress off. I can see your dirty pillows. Carrie: They’re called breasts, mama, and every woman has them]

qg0cf6cvtt8li

There’s one film that I’ve watched at least 5 times since it came out in cinema here, Crimson Peak: ‘In the aftermath of a family tragedy, an aspiring author is torn between love for her childhood friend and the temptation of a mysterious outsider. Trying to escape the ghosts of her past, she is swept away to a house that breathes, bleeds – and remembers.’ The story is incredible, the scenery, the director Guillermo del Toro knows how to execute a horror story brilliantly, the ghosts aren’t like those you’ve seen before and you don’t expect a lot of the twists that happen which is what makes it even more thrilling.

[Favourite quote/s: Ghosts are real, this much I know. There are things that tie them to a place, very much like they do to us. Some remain tethered to a patch of land, a time and date, the spilling of blood, a terrible crime… There are others, others that hold onto an emotion, a drive, loss, revenge, or love. Those, they never go away.”

3o7qe5xxydpeacvojk

Last but certainly not least is a relatively new film to the horror scene, The Witch the plot centres on a family in 1630s New England torn apart by the forces of witchcraft, black magic and possession. This film quickly became one of my favourites because it’s not a stereotypical horror film, there’s no jump scares. it’s subtle; instead playing on paranoia and deception rather than gruesome blood filled scenes (don’t get me wrong there are some) but at the end of the day the film has an unexpected twist that makes the viewer gasp. A must watch if you like psychological and subtle horrors.

[Favourite quote/s: “Wouldst thou like the taste of butter and a pretty dress? Wouldst thou like to live deliciously?”

So what is your favourite movie to watch in the Halloween season, and do you have a favourite quote from it?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

*all images and gifs taken from internet
51 thoughts on “10 Favourite Halloween/Fall Season Films

  1. LavenderLife says:

    I haven’t seen anything from this list. But I’ll definitely check some of those out the upcoming evenings 🙂 I was actually looking for some good Halloween movies, so this post comes right in time.

    Like

  2. denisemcd75 says:

    Ive only seen a few on your list Crimson Peak, Carrie & Trick r Treat. I’m ashamed to say I’ve never seen Hocus Pocus but it’s on my list to watch. Ive seen the remake of Carrie and much prefer the 1976 one. My favourites are Halloween, Nightmare before Christmas and The Conjuring

    Like

  3. helenevlacho says:

    Truth to be said, i don’t like Halloween so much or Carnival. But Hocus Pocus would be my favorite. And your article is wonderful, very well done!

    Like

  4. Marleen (The Beauty Context) says:

    This is such a good idea for a post. I find that in New Zealand, Halloween isn’t as big as it is in the US, but I still like to get involved even if I don’t actually dress up. I think a movie night at home might be the perfect way to spent the Halloween weekend so thank you for your awesome ideas. I haven’t even heard of half these movies so I am hoping Netflix has them.

    Like

  5. lainaleighh says:

    As someone who missed out on all the awesome tv disney movies growing up, this is the perfect list for me to figure out where to start! I’m tucking in and watching all these this week!

    Like

  6. sidneyaldaine says:

    I like the Craft, maybe because it’s somehow different from all the other seasonal movies I’ve seen…Then again, Corpse bride is probably the number one on my list!

    Like

  7. Shahira says:

    I have not been a movie person for some time now ..what with medical school and now motherhood. I actually haven’t watched even one movie from this list😨
    I have so much watching to catch up with. Thanks for the list.

    Like

  8. Ree love30 says:

    I can’t wait for Halloween weekend!! ALL I’m going to is ear loads of sweets and chocolate with horror movie marathon from the comfort of my sofa 😄. Trick or treat is such a weird film but good. The craft is a classic! Ree love30

    Like

  9. Heather Lilia says:

    Oh my gosh, absolute throwback to my childhood! Twitches was my jam and I watched all the various spin offs they created of it. Awesome post, this makes me want to have a movie party with friends and spiked apple cider haha

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Noel Lorenzan says:

    Love it!! I’ve seen all these movies (except for the new Carrie) and love the genre. I’m not so keen on being scared anymore, but these are classics.

    Like

  11. laveenasengar says:

    I am big movie lover. However, I haven’t seen any of these yet because I a really scared to watch horror movies. But will definitely watch them all now that I have a list. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

