Soap and Glory Glamorama Review

glamorama

image taken from Boots website

So over the holidays I received this gift set, the aptly named ‘Glamorama’ makeup set. Now I’ve been a fan of Soap and Glory products for years, mainly their ‘Righteous Body Butter’ and ‘Vitamin C facial wash’ but I must admit that’s I’ve never even considered trying their makeup before even though many people rave about it.

So the set itself comes packaged in a hard case with a large mirror that is magnetised to ensure the products don’t get damaged or fall out. Now for the products; in the set you get:

THICK & FAST™ High Definition Collagen Coat™ Mascara in FILM NOIR
SUPERCAT™ Carbon Black Extreme Liquid Eyeliner Pen
SEXY MOTHER PUCKER™ Lip Shine Lacquer in CHARM OFFENSIVE
GLOW ALL OUT™ Luminising Face Powder
LID STUFF™ Eye Shadows in THREE shades: OKEY SMOKEY, WHAT A NIGHT and FOIL IN LOVE
15996311_10210309435388233_1209230100_n

Full face done using all products from set

Now I’m not usually one for wearing mascara or lipgloss, however I really wanted to give the whole set a fair try. With that in mind I’ll start with the mascara; I was pleasantly surprised it was light on the lashes and not clumpy, it lengthened without weighing them down however I didn’t see much in the way of thickening other than them darkening the lashes themselves.

Since we’re on the topic of eyes, next lets review the shadows, two of which are matte (Okey Smokey and What a Night) and the third is a glittery shadow. First of all the formula is great, it’s soft almost buttery with very little fallout, the matte shades blend and apply easily with the brush that comes with the set, however I had to use my finger and the pat it method to get Foil in Love (glitter shade) to stick to my eyes. My only complaint is that when I came back to use them again, I tried to use my usual brush set and found that they didn’t want to cooperate but they work fine with the brush provided, which is a shame. Other than that the trio together make a perfect ‘subtle’ smokey eye.

Next the Supercat liner, I have to say this was one of the smoothest liners I’ve used in a while which says something because I swear by my Collection Extreme 24 Hour Felt Tip Liner (£2.50 in Boots) but this glided on so easily and it took me no time at all to do my signature cat eye.

Now for lips, the lip laquer itself was a beautiful shade of pink which although not a colour I usually reach for suited the look, I was also pleasantly surprised to find it wasn’t nearly as sticky as most other lip glosses/laquers. However the product boasts that it is ultra-moisturising, repairing and gives a 3D Plump, none of which I experienced although this could be due to the fact I’ve only worn it once (no matter how pretty the colour I just can’t tolerate lip gloss)

Lastly is the luminising face powder, it’s safe to say I’m unsure about this product. I have tried it a few times, sometimes as a highlight others as an all over face powder and I don’t see a difference. Perhaps it the wrong colour for my skintone but it doesn’t show up on my face. Perhaps on someone that doesn’t have pink undertones in their skin this may work wonderfully but that being said I still wear it so either it’s compulsion or subconsciously I think it’s working.

The set is available at Boots store over Christmas, retailing at £20. However the items are available separately: Soap and Glory Boots UK or Soap and Glory official site

So do you have a favourite Soap and Glory product, if so what is it?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

45 thoughts on “Soap and Glory Glamorama Review

  1. denisemcd75 says:

    I’ve not used any of the Soap & Glory products and never realised they did make up, your look is really lovely and perfect for a night out. I might check out their products next time I’m in Boots 🙂

    Like

  2. womanpulse says:

    It seems like you have the best makeup products in the Uk. I love the set and it looks amazing on you. I have so much trouble finding a great liner. I usually only use Matte products but I love a touch of glitter. Love the name of your blog by the way

    Like

  3. Atzimba • Blossom & Balance says:

    Thanks for this review! This set looks like a perfect all in one! (ideal for me, because I’m not a fan of lugging around a ton of make up😊)

    Like

  4. Kaleigh says:

    Love the look on you! The set looks awesome! And I chuckled a little at how you don’t usually wear mascara because I’m the TOTAL opposite! If I skip makeup TOTALLY, I’m at least wearing my mascara! Sweet review!

    Like

  5. Saranda says:

    The set looks really good! I love how it is an all in one travel kit with a good size! Is the eyeshadow very build-able because for me it looks pretty heavy, doesn’t it?

    Like

  6. SofarsoSabine says:

    I don’t have a favorite product yet since I don’t even have one product from this brand but I like to get to know new brands 🙂 so I think I’m going to look for it here in Stockholm!

    Like

  7. Karoliina Kazi says:

    This set would be great for travelling, I don’t enjoy carrying tons of makeup with me so something this small and compact would be ideal. I’ll definitely check if they still carry the box sets at boots.

    Like

  8. oindrila98 says:

    I’m not sure if it’s because of the makeup but your face is glowing beautifully. Always love the smoky eyes! 😃

    Beforbeauty.com

    Like

  9. Perla Jacobs says:

    This is a great review and the set just make you look beautiful like a fairy. I’ve checked out these products on Boots website and my country is on their shipping destination. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  10. Marleen (The Beauty Context) says:

    Looks like a great set and definitely value for money. My favourite Soap and Glory products are their delicious breakfast body scrubs. Seriously, it’s just the most delicious smelling product ever and it does the job too. I also love the Soap and Glory Righteous Body butter. So hydrating and it smells good too.

    Like

  11. Danika says:

    I’m on a lip color binge now, and I really like that Sexy MotherPucker (the name is cool too). Personally, I think your face is well done. And, I’m still harping over that lip color. Subtle yet pretty.

    Like

Leave a Reply

