When it finally clicks

The only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. – Steve Jobs

So as of September this year I will have officially finished my education, leaving me with a BA in Graphic Design and (hopefully) a MA in Fine Art. With the iminent end of my degree looming I’ve been panicking as to what to do with my degrees and what career I wanted. After a lot of worrying, tears, stress and fear I came across the quote above and it really resonated with me. I started listing things that I love to do:

  • Writing
  • Reading
  • Photography
  • Painting and sketching

For writing I am lucky that I have this blog, it gives me the perfect opportunity to let the literary muses flow; my other creative outlets are overtaken with uni work at the moment and I find myself not wanting to paint or sketch at home very often. But one thing I do find  myself doing quite often is photography. I love it. I’ve always believed in the importance of documenting everyday, memories are so important and photos are a perfect way to capture a moment.

AND THEN IT CLICKED

barry

tunisia

14971423_10209631288514985_636782180_n

If I adore taking pictures, why had I not ever considered it as a career? With a few months left of university and time not being on my side, it’s time to start writing up a plan of action and that’s what I tend to do from here on out. As well as focusing my degree and speciality more so that I can be the best photographer that I can be.

 

When did you decide what you wanted to do in life? Are you doing it or still trying? Leave a comment below.
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

17 thoughts on “When it finally clicks

  1. denisemcd75 says:

    A number of careers went through my head growing up and one was to be a vet, when I realised that I might not get the grades needed I decided to be a veterinary nurse instead. I did this for 14 years, left to teach animal care to students but it was a job that I absolutely hated (work colleagues rather than the job itself) and I felt miserable so left and after a few months of being unemployed got a job in an oil company. I’m back working in the veterinary industry but as a receptionist instead and I’m enjoying it. Doing something you enjoy makes it feel like it’s not really work so if photography is what you love (cute squirrel pic by the way) then that’s the route you should go down. Wow long comment, sorry! 😄 xx

    Like

    • watchmeblather says:

      I couldn’t agree more I’ve gone through so many different career ideas and choices growing up but never settled on one for one reason or another. I think that doing something you love and being happy in your job/career choice will reflect in other aspects of your life too such as with yourself, family life and relationships with people. And thankyou we dubbed him (the squirrel) Barry lol

      Like

  2. Jasmin N says:

    Wow, I’m so happy for you! Congrats on finding your passion 🙂
    I’m still looking for mine. Or well, I’ve applied to school three years in a row now and I haven’t been accepted. I always get two or three points less from the entrance exam than the lowest score that gets accepted and it’s seriously frustrating haha. Maybe next fall I’ll get accepted, would be a time already haha 😀

    Like

  3. SofarsoSabine says:

    Thats Such a good idea! Go for it, I know you can if you work hard for it. If you ever need a model and you’re in stockholm, let me know!!

    Xo Sabine

    Like

  4. Anastasia Nicole says:

    I’m still working out exactly what it is I want to do and I earned my BS 10 years ago this summer. I’ve spent that time working in the fashion industry and blogging, and now I work at a fashion tech startup doing marketing and sales. The sales part they can keep, lol. Right now I’m working on transitioning into life coaching but in 20 years who knows.

    Good luck with finishing school and the photography business.

    Like

  5. namrata patel says:

    Firstly, congratulations on both the degree and finding your calling. In a world that’s filled with BS nowadays, I truly feel that you must follow your heart and do exactly what YOU want. Bravo to you.

    Like

  6. toastycritic says:

    I know I have gotten degrees and attempted things. I ended up as a librarian as I did love books but things did go a bit crazy before getting there. Lots of little roadblocks and detours along the way.

    Like

  7. Sabra Wineteer says:

    I started writing novels when I was 12, but didn’t have good guidance for far too long. After a very long hiatus, I picked up the pen again at the age of 28. Now, at 44, I write novels. Publishing them is a different story, though.

    Like

  8. Beth Berger says:

    Don’t you love those moments when things just click! I realized I wanted to work in marketing a few years after I finished school. Not soon enough to tailor my studies for the profession but early enough to seek out opportunities that would garner plenty of on-the-job experience.

    Like

  9. Sandra Tsai says:

    You will make a great photographer! 🙂
    Totally can relate, was in the same position this time last year when I was about to graduate but was so lost in what I wanted to do! Took some time to figure it out but everything will make sense in the end!

    Like

  10. kirstyralph13 says:

    Good luck with the rest of your degree it was a stressful time when I finished mine a year ago! I never went into a job that needed my degree so sometimes the unexpected is better than trying to plan! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

