Spicy Sweet Potato Soup [Vegan]

There’s nothing better on a cold day than sitting down to a bowl of warm comforting soup. Now I generally don’t like soup but as a rule I tend to love anything sweet potato and as my attempt at eating healthier more wholesome meals I decided to create my own soup recipe, modifying a traditional sweet potato soup recipe.

img_0071

Ingredients:

3 sweet potatoes

3 white potatoes

800ml vegetable broth

1 tbsp oil, 1 red onion, 2 cloves garlic, 1 tsp ginger

1 tbsp paprika, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp cajun seasoning

sprinkle of salt, white sugar and chilli flakes

Directions

  1. To a large saucepan, heat the oil on medium heat, add the diced red onion, crushed garlic cloves and ginger.
  2. Add the vegetable broth, bring to a boil.
  3. Peel and diced the potatoes, add to the broth, lower the heat.
  4. Add paprika, cinnamon, cajun seasonings, salt, white sugar and chilli flakes.
  5. Cook until potatoes have softened.
  6. Take off heat and let cool.
  7. Puree soup, reheat and enjoy.

img_0072

The blend of the sweet potato, spices and hint of chilli come together nicely to create this smooth, creamy soup. The flavours mix together perfectly (at least in my opinion), I usually pair it with a few crackers or sprinkle some more chilli flakes or a drizzle of sriracha.

What’s your favourite soup recipe? If you try this please take photographs and tag my facebook page WatchMeBlather.
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

32 thoughts on “Spicy Sweet Potato Soup [Vegan]

  1. denisemcd75 says:

    This soup sounds lovely, the chilli flakes & cinnamon will be nice and warming on these colder days. I love sweet potato too, particularly the fries 😊 My mum quite often makes me sweet potato & roasted pepper soup, that tastes pretty good too.

    Like

  2. helenevlacho says:

    Definitely i want to try this soup. I am not a vegan but picturing the hot and spicy soup in a cold evening, makes me wanna go and buy some sweet potatoes tomorrow morning in the public market. I would try to add some croutons though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

